► Stay Connected


Energy Management Leadership Awards: Read Application Tips and Meet the Judges

Monday, November 28, 2016

Organizations around the world with ISO 50001-certified energy management systems are encouraged to showcase their accomplishments through a prestigious awards program from the Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM)—a high-level global forum working to accelerate the global clean energy transition. Top winners will be honored at the eighth Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM8) meeting on 6-8 June 2017 in Beijing, China, attended by energy ministers and corporate leaders from around the globe.

The 2017 CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards will raise awareness of the benefits of energy management systems and accelerate their uptake to support corporate, national, and global energy and climate goals. Each organization that submits a qualifying case study will receive an Insight Award to recognize its contributions to the global energy management knowledge base. The highest-scoring entries will move forward as finalists for the CEM Award of Excellence.

Analysis shows that broad implementation of ISO 50001 across commercial and industrial sectors globally could drive cumulative energy savings of approximately 62 exajoules by 2030, saving over $600 billion in energy costs and avoiding 6,500 Mt of CO2 emissions. The projected annual emissions savings in the year 2030 are equivalent to removing 215 million passenger vehicles from the road.

Get Started

  • Send an email to to ensure you receive important updates. Include your name and email address, company name, and country. This does not obligate participation.
  • Visit the CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards website to learn more about the award rules, entry format, scoring, and recognition.
  • Submit an Entry Form and structured case study describing your energy management experience and the resulting benefits. The submission deadline is 14 February 2017.


Use the following tips to help you distinguish your case study from those of other applicants:

  • Adhere to the case study format and its structure. Use sub-headings to help organize your story and help readers find important information in your case study.
  • Tell a story. Where possible, include in-depth descriptions or specific examples. Explain how your organization was innovative, and why your approaches and accomplishments are important.
  • Refer to the established evaluation criteria before submitting your case study. Imagine the perspective of a judge reading about your company for the first time, and frame your story accordingly.
  • Include quotes that provide unique insights, rather than generalities.
  • Explain your quantifiable results and your approach to normalizing numbers.
  • Proofread to ensure proper grammar and use of language.
  • Keep your case study between 4 and 6 pages.


The CEM Energy Management Working Group is pleased to announce that an independent panel of international experts has been confirmed to judge applications and determine the winners. The following energy management system (EnMS) experts comprise the 2017 panel:   

  • Australia: Albert Dessi
  • Canada: Michael DeWit
  • Canada: Bei Wang
  • Chile: Michel de Laire
  • India: Suhas Lohokare
  • Indonesia: Aris Ika Nugrahanto
  • Ireland: Liam McLaughlin
  • Mexico: Bernardo Lazcano
  • Japan: Akira Ishihara
  • Japan: Fuyuhiko Noda
  • South Africa: Wendy da Cruz
  • United Kingdom: Kit Oung
  • UNIDO: Bettina Schreck

All accepted entries will be published online to highlight the range of benefits achieved through the use of ISO 50001-certified energy management systems. Award winning entries from the inaugural 2016 awards program are featured on the CEM website and in the EWMG’s case study library, where case studies can be sorted by industry and country. Learn more during an informational awards webinar, register today: January 10 or January 12.

This awards program is the latest in a series of high-impact activities launched by the Energy Management Working Group (EMWG), a joint initiative of the CEM and the International Partnership for Energy Efficiency Cooperation. Through the EMWG, government officials worldwide share best practices and leverage their collective knowledge and experience to accelerate the effective use of energy management systems. Governments participating in the EMWG include Australia, Canada, Chile, China (observer), the European Commission, Finland, Germany, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Sweden, United Arab Emirates, and the United States. The EMWG leads the CEM Energy Management Campaign, a call to action urging governments, business, industry, and other key partners to use the ISO 50001 standard as a transparent mechanism to demonstrate progress towards climate and energy goals. The Campaign aims to achieve 50,001 global certifications to ISO 50001 by 2020.

Please login or register to post comments.