► Stay Connected

CEM Awards

CEM Awards provide critical recognition and visibility for key issues and achievements in clean energy. They are a crucial way for the CEM to encourage clean energy innovation, catalyze markets toward highly effective and efficient clean energy solutions, and build and recognize clean energy leadership.

The CEM Awards raise awareness about top-performing technologies, products, and solutions, which can boost both consumer and market confidence. They focus industry attention on high-impact areas of opportunity, where greater innovation is needed to unlock major energy and emissions savings. And they support replication of successful practices and concepts, to encourage greater participation and adoption. All of these help drive the clean energy revolution forward.

Selected Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM) initiatives have developed and administer the CEM Awards programs to advance their missions in clean energy, energy efficiency, and capacity-building. Four CEM initiative award programs are currently active or in development. They recognize outstanding achievement in four areas:

  • Clean energy education and empowerment
  • Energy-efficient appliances and equipment
  • Energy-efficient off-grid appliances
  • Energy management
  • Smart grid innovation

Clean energy education and empowerment

The CEM Award for outstanding achievement in clean energy education and empowerment — the C3E Awards —recognize outstanding mid-career women who are advancing clean, renewable sources of energy, related technologies, or clean energy policy. The C3E Awards provide critical recognition of women’s contributions to clean energy and inspire women to contribute further to the clean energy field.

The U.S. Clean Energy Education & Empowerment (C3E) program sponsors the C3E Awards.

Learn more about the C3E Awards on the C3E Awards website.

Currently, the C3E Awards are a U.S. program only, and the winners receive national recognition at the annual U.S. C3E Symposium. If this awards program becomes international, C3E may include the international awards in the CEM Awards ceremony.

Energy-efficient appliances and equipment 

The CEM Award for outstanding achievement in energy-efficient products — the SEAD Global Efficiency Medal competition — encourages the production and sale of super-efficient equipment, appliances, and electronics. The Global Efficiency Medal competition identifies the most efficient products for multiple categories in four regions, as well as an overall global winner, and demonstrates the levels of energy efficiency that are achievable with commercially available and emerging technologies.

CEM's Super-efficient Equipment and Appliance Deployment (SEAD) initiative sponsors the Global Efficiency Medal competition.

Learn more about the SEAD Global Efficiency Medal competition on the SEAD website.

SEAD Global Efficiency Medal winners have been highlighted at the fourth, fifth, sixth, and seventh Clean Energy Ministerial meetings (2013, 2014, 2015, and 2016, respectively).

Energy-efficient off-grid appliances

The CEM Award for outstanding achievement in energy-efficient off-grid products — the Global LEAP Outstanding Off-Grid Appliance Awards — identify and promote the world’s highest quality, most energy-efficient low-voltage direct current off-grid appliances. The Global LEAP Awards provide clear signals about appliance quality and performance to encourage a self-sustaining commercial market of off-grid appliances. By promoting innovation in off-grid appliances, the Global LEAP Awards help increase energy access to the millions of people suffering from energy poverty in the developing world.

CEM's Global Lighting and Energy Access Partnership (Global LEAP) sponsors the awards.

Learn more about the Global LEAP Awards on the Global LEAP Awards website.

Global LEAP winners were highlighted at the fifth Clean Energy Ministerial meeting in 2014 and the seventh Clean Energy Ministerial meeting in 2016. As part of a new partnership with the multi-donor Energising Development facility, the UK Department of International Development, and the German Federal Enterprise for International Development, the next round of Global LEAP Awards will be coupled with results-based financing incentives targeted at off-grid energy service companies that make large purchases of award-winning products.


Energy management

Awards logo

The CEM Award for energy management achievements – the Energy Management Leadership Awards – recognizes organizations using an ISO 50001-certified energy management system to save energy and reduce costs. This award helps accelerate broad implementation of these proven systems to help meet organizational, national, and global energy and climate goals. 

CEM’s Energy Management Working Group (EMWG) sponsors these awards. 

Learn more about the Energy Management Leadership Awards. The awards program is accepting entries for the 2018 awards program; the submission deadline is 24 January 2018.

The top winners receive CEM Awards of Excellence in Energy Management and are honored at the annual Clean Energy Ministerial meeting.

Smart grid innovation

The CEM Award for outstanding achievement in smart grid innovation—the ISGAN Award of Excellence—showcases leadership and innovation in smart grid projects around the world. Projects receiving this prestigious award serve as global exemplars of the value that smarter, cleaner electric grids can offer. Thus, the Award of Excellence helps promote proven smart grid concepts.

CEM's International Smart Grid Action Network (ISGAN) sponsors the award.

Learn more about the ISGAN Award of Excellence on the ISGAN website.

The winners of the Award of Excellence were highlighted during the fifth Clean Energy Ministerial meeting in 2014, the sixth Clean Energy Ministerial meeting in 2015, and the seventh Clean Energy Ministerial meeting in June 2016.