► Stay Connected

Energy Management Leadership Awards


The Clean Energy Ministerial invites your company or organization to compete for a prestigious global award by sharing your experiences in implementing energy management strategies through ISO 50001.

Winners will be honored at the Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM9) meeting. This high-profile event will gather clean energy leaders and partners from around the world, including energy ministers from the 24 governments active in CEM.

Clean Energy Ministerial Meeting
Copenhagen, Denmark and Malmö, Sweden
23-24 May 2018

Submission Deadline: 24 January 2018

CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards

Organizations around the globe are using ISO 50001-certified energy management systems to achieve energy, economic, and sustainability benefits that boost competitiveness. ISO 50001 offers a transparent, business-friendly way to align corporate goals with national climate and energy goals. 

The CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards recognize those who are actively transforming their organizations and the world with ISO 50001. Share your organization’s experiences and inspire others to implement this winning strategy. 

Entries will be considered for several award categories:

CEM Award of Excellence in Energy Management: The top winners will be honored at the 2018 Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM9) in Denmark and Sweden. This global award brings high-profile government recognition and media attention.

National Energy Management Awards: Governments may honor organizations submitting top entries from their countries. View countries offering national awards.

Energy Management Insight Awards: All qualifying entries will be recognized for helping to build global insight on the benefits of energy management systems.

Who's Eligible?

Any organization from around the world in the industrial, commercial, or public sector with a current ISO 50001 certificate is eligible to participate. Organizations may be corporate- or facility-level, as noted on the ISO 50001 certificate. ISO 50001 certificates must be issued by an accredited, third-party certification body.

To Apply:

Please read the Official Rules and use the case study template, which specifies format and content along with the evaluation criteria and points available. Entries are due 24 January 2018 at 22:00 UTC (GMT).

Learn More:

  • Fact sheet

  • Press Release

  • 2017 Award Recipients

  • 2016 Awards Recipients

  • View webinar featuring Andrew Cooper, Energy Specialist for New Gold’s New Afton Mine in Canada, a 2016 CEM Award of Excellence in Energy Management winner. Mr. Cooper will share his experiences and tips on preparing entries. The webinar, hosted by the Copenhagen Centre on Energy Efficiency, begins with an introduction about awards program and how to participate.

Energy Management Leadership Awards are organized by the Clean Energy Ministerial Energy Management Working Group.

National Energy Management Recognition

Countries are recognizing ISO 50001 energy management leaders through the CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards program or through national programs. Participating countries are listed below, and other countries will be added below once confirmed.

CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards - National awards:

Argentina flagArgentina is partnering with the CEM to offer a national award through the CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards. The national award is offered by the Under Secretariat of Energy Efficiency and Savings of Argentina’s Ministry of Energy and Mining.

Canada is partnering with the CEM to offer a national award through the CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards.

south africa flag

South Africa is partnering with the CEM to offer a national award through the CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards. The national award is offered by the South African Association for Energy Efficiency (SAEE), supported by the South African National Energy Development Institute (SANEDI) and the National Cleaner Production Center (NCPC).

UAE flagThe United Arab Emirates Ministry of Energy is collaborating with the Energy Management Working Group under CEM to offer a National Energy Management Leadership Award. The award aims to praise and encourage efforts in applying energy management standards in the UAE driving the country towards reaching its energy productivity targets.

National Programs:

Chile flagIn Chile, the Ministry of Energy offers the Sello Eficiencia Energética, which recognizes companies leading in energy efficiency at the national level. The top distinction, Gold, honors Chilean organizations certified to ISO 50001 with at least two implemented energy efficiency (EE) measures. The initiative is administered by the Chilean Energy Efficiency Agency (AChEE).

United States

The U.S. Department of Energy’s Superior Energy Performance (SEP) is a voluntary certification and recognition program for facilities demonstrating energy management excellence and sustained energy savings.  While SEP recognizes achievements nationally through SEP certification and SEP performance levels: Silver, Gold and Platinum, DOE encourages SEP certified facilities to participate in the CEM awards program for global energy management recognition.