► Stay Connected

Clean Energy Ministerial 1 (CEM1)

19–20 July 2010, Washington, DC

Day 1 - Monday, July 19, 2010
Ministerial Discussions 
(Official government delegations only)

Day 2 - Tuesday, July 20, 2010
Clean Energy Ministerial Public Forum




Opening Remarks

  • Steven ChuSecretary of Energy, United States

Energy Efficiency/Smart Grid Announcements and Panel

  • Vijay VaitheeswaranCorrespondent, The Economist (Moderator)
  • Montek Singh AhluwaliaDeputy Chairman, Planning Commission, India
  • Peter CorsellChairman and CEO, GridPoint
  • Hal HarveyCEO and President, ClimateWorks
  • Georgina KesselMinister of Energy, Mexico
  • Jim RogersChairman, President and CEO, Duke Energy



  • David SandalowAssistant Secretary of Energy for Policy and International Affairs, United States (Moderator)
  • Gary LockeSecretary of Commerce, United States
  • John HoldrenAssistant to the President for Science and Technology
  • Kristina JohnsonUnder Secretary of Energy, United States

Clean Electricity Announcements and Panel

  • Monica TrauzziManaging Editor/Host, E&ETV (Moderator)
  • Lykke FriisMinister of Climate and Energy, Denmark
  • David HawkinsDirector of Climate Programs, Natural Resources Defense Council
  • Lew HayChairman and CEO, NextEra Energy
  • Nick HorlerCEO, ScottishPower
  • Chris HuhneSecretary of State for Energy and Climate Change, United Kingdom
  • Dan ReicherDirector of Climate Change and Energy Initiatives, Google

Energy Access Announcements and Panel

  • Nancy BirdsallPresident, Center for Global Development (Moderator)
  • Rachel KyteVice President, Business Advisory Services, International Finance Corporation
  • Kevin NassiepCEO, South African National Energy Research Institute
  • RK PachauriChair, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
  • John PodestaPresident and CEO, Center for American Progress
  • Kandeh YumkellaChairman, UN-Energy; Director-General, United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)

Reports to Secretary Chu and Other Heads of Delegation