► Stay Connected

Clean Energy Ministerial 6 (CEM6) 

27–28 May 2015, Mérida, Yucatán, Mexico

Photo: A segment of the CEM Awards ceremony at the Sixth Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM6) in 2015.

CEM Awards Ceremony

At the end of the first day (27 May) of CEM6, several global clean energy innovators working to advance appliance energy efficiency, smart grid technology, and clean energy education and empowerment were honored during the CEM Awards Ceremony. 

The CEM Awards provide critical recognition and visibility for key issues and achievements in clean energy. They are a crucial way for the CEM to encourage clean energy innovation, catalyze markets toward highly effective and efficient clean energy solutions, and build and recognize clean energy leadership.

The CEM Award for outstanding achievement in energy-efficient electric motors – presented as the SEAD Global Efficiency Medal
Minister Wan Gang of China’s Ministry of Science and Technology presented the SEAD Global Efficiency Medal showcasing highly energy-efficient electric motors to Nanyang Explosion Protection Group Company Limited from Henan Province, P.R. China for their 4-kilowatt and 11-kilowatt electric motors. 

The CEM Award for outstanding achievement in smart grid innovation – presented as the ISGAN Award of Excellence: Smart Grids for Renewable Energy Integration
Minister Ibrahim Baylan of Sweden’s Ministry of Environment and Energy presented the ISGAN Award of Excellence for “Excellence in Smart Grids for Renewable Energy Integration” to the “GRID4EU Large-scale Demonstration of European Smart Distributions Networks” project. 

The CEM Award for outstanding achievement in clean energy education and empowerment – recognizing the international C3E Ambassadors
Engineer Fatima Al Foora, the Assistant Undersecretary for Electricity, Clean Energy, and Desalinated Water Affairs from the United Arab Emirates Ministry of Energy, highlighted the CEM’s Clean Energy Education and Empowerment (C3E) initiative and recognized the International C3E Ambassadors nominated by CEM member countries.